View more on these topics

Two new financial policy committee members appointed

Chancellor of the exchequer Philip Hammond has announced two new external financial policy committee members.

The FPC is part of the Bank of England, and is responsible for overseeing the stability of the UK’s financial system.

Dame Colette Bowe and Dame Jayne-Anne Gadhia will replace outgoing members Richard Sharp and Martin Tylor, whose exits are planned for the end of Q1 and Q2, respectively.

Bowe has experience at board level with the UK statistics authority and the department for transport, and is current chairman of the banking standards board, a trustee of the IFRS foundation and the Nuffield foundation, and a visiting fellow at Oxford’s Nuffield College.

Gadhia worked as chief executive of Virgin Money for over a decade, served as a member of the mayor of London’s business advisory board, and regularly attended the prime minister’s business advisory council.

Both new members will serve for three years.

Hammond comments: “The financial policy committee’s importance to the protection and resilience of our economy cannot be overstated, which is why we have some of the finest talent in finance on it. The insight and experience that both Dame Colette and Dame Jayne-Anne bring will be valuable assets to the committee’s vital work.

“I would like to thank Richard Sharp and Martin Taylor for their significant contributions to the committee over their terms, and I wish them all the best for the future.”

Bank of England governor Mark Carney says: “As chair of the banking standards board, Colette has led the way in developing and embedding better standards of conduct across the banking sector. Her experience in the private sector and handling some of the biggest regulatory challenges of our times will also be extremely valuable to the committee’s deliberations in the coming years.

“Jayne-Anne brings deep and relevant experience in retail banking and her successful business career. In her public policy she has championed the transformative impact of adopting new technologies and of greater diversity within the workforce of the financial services industry. We also greatly look forward to her contributions to the work of the committee.”


FCA logo new 3 620x430

FCA and PSR appoint new committee members

The financial conduct authority and payment systems regulator boards have appointed new members to their respective competition decisions committees and the latter’s enforcement committee. The new members of the all three committees comprise Lesley Ainsworth, Simon Polito, David Thomas and Tim Tutton, while Alasdair Smith has joined the FCA’s CDC. Their remit is to make […]

Over half shared ownership members unaware they can move between properties

Shared ownership homeowners do not understand the scheme with most not knowing they can move between properties. According to YouGov research of over 200 shared ownership homeowners, 52 per cent were unaware they can move between properties, with only 21 per cent understanding how moving from one property to another would work. Shared ownership is […]

Lifetime Isa – how it works

According to George Osborne “people like Isas – because they’re simple”. Fiona Tait is not convinced… Contributions & bonuses What he said: “From April 2017, anyone under the age of 40 will be able to open a Lifetime Isa and save up to £4,000 each year. And for every £4 you save, the Government will […]


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up