Gertjan Vlieghe joins the MPC

Brevan Howard Asset Management senior economist Gertjan Vlieghe has been appointed to the Monetary Policy Committee, Chancellor George Osborne has announced.

Vlieghe will replace David Miles as external MPC member, with Miles standing down from the nine-strong committee at the end of August.

Osborne says: “Dr Vlieghe brings experience from his time at both the Bank of England and the financial services industry and will be a strong addition to the MPC.”