View more on these topics

FCA set to overhaul CeMAP qualification


The Financial Conduct Authority is looking to overhaul the CeMAP qualification for mortgage intermediaries, Mortgage Strategy understands.

The regulator, which oversees financial exam standards, wants to update the qualification to reflect the modern mortgage market, taking into account new regulation and tax changes, according to sources.

This could involve changing exam scenarios and terminology, neither of which have been updated since 2011. For example, the current CeMAP wording still refers to the former FSA regulator.

The FCA is currently talking to trade bodies, mortgage firms and exam providers to get ideas for tweaks.

The regulator is not currently looking to change the CeMAP qualification from its current level three standing, Mortgage Strategy understands.

The FCA wants to bring out a formal consultation paper in the summer, and will follow that with either new exam rules or more consultation papers on specific aspects of the CeMAP.

Any changes to the CeMAP syllabus will be implemented by the Institute of Financial Services.

An IFS spokesman says: “These standards have been in place for some time now and we would certainly see benefit in them being updated to reflect recent developments in the sector. If any changes were to be made, we think it would be very unlikely that existing CeMAP holders would be affected.”

The FCA would not comment.



Buy-to-let Watch: Why now for rental cover calculation tweaks

The buy-to-let market has grown rapidly in recent years, with landlords, lenders and brokers all benefitting from this, writes OneSavings Bank sales and marketing director John Eastgate. Headwinds are all too apparent however, and we are now in a world where politicians and regulators have intervened (or suggested that they might) in an attempt to […]


Nemo Personal Finance stops new lending

Principality Building Society has pulled out of the second charge market after deciding to stop new lending through Nemo Personal Finance. Nemo, one of the biggest lenders in the second charge sector, will focus on its current customers and says it will honour its existing pipeline of business. Sources say Principality believed the market was […]


ERC urges FCA to ease affordability rules

The Equity Release Council is urging the Financial Conduct Authority to consider easing mortgage affordability rules to help consumers make interest repayments before swapping to a roll-up deal. Changes to the Mortgage Conduct of Business rules following the Mortgage Market Review mean that lifetime mortgage contracts which permit consumers to pay interest for a period […]


FCA pushes European Commission for foreign currency shakeup

The Financial Conduct Authority has asked the European Commission to reclassify foreign currency loans to lift the “burden” on lenders. The regulator says in its response to the commission’s call for evidence on the European Union regulatory framework for financial services that the current definition of these loans is too broad. Anyone buying overseas property […]


News and expert analysis straight to your inbox

Sign up
  • Post a comment
  • Chris Hulme 11th February 2016 at 5:06 pm

    Although they are somewhat lenient, it’s not necessarily the qualifications that are the issue, its the lack of a grandfathering requirement in this industry.

    Currently, it appears that a new entrant to the industry can pass qualifications one day and set up a new mortgage broker desk the next without having turned a page of an application. We saw the devastation of this with the order takers that arrived in the first few years of the new millennium.

    Our equals on other professional are usually required to be time served and have relevant experience before they are able to set up on their own or advise clients without supervision. This year marks 30 years since the Financial Services Act and yet the need to have experience as well as qualifications seems to have bypassed every regulator we’ve had.


Why register with Mortgage Strategy?

Mortgage Strategy continues to be the market-leading B2B mortgage publication in the UK, and provides trusted, independent insight with the aim of helping, promoting and analysing the latest developments for mortgage professionals.

News & analysis delivered directly to your inbox
Register today to receive our range of news alerts including daily and weekly briefings

Mortgage Strategy Events
Be the first to hear about our industry leading conferences, awards, webinars and more.

Research and insight
Take part in and see the results of Mortgage Strategy's flagship investigations into industry trends.

Have your say
Only registered users can post comments. As the voice of the adviser community, our content generates robust debate. Sign up today and make your voice heard.

Register now